- Get Help
- For Parents
- For Survivors
- Sex Abuse Legal Info
West Virginia Ann. Code § 49-6A-2 sets forth a list of professionals who are required to report suspected child abuse and neglect (including sexual abuse) to authorities. The list includes medical, dental, and mental health care providers; religious healers; teachers and school personnel; social service, child care, and foster care workers; emergency medical services personnel; peace officers; law enforcement officials; members of the clergy; youth camp employees; athletic coaches; and commercial film and photo processors.
In addition, any person over age 18 who receives a disclosure from a credible witness or observes any sexual abuse or sexual assault of a child shall immediately, and no more than 48 hours after receiving such a disclosure or observing the sexual abuse or sexual assault, report the circumstances or cause a report to be made to the Department of Health and Human
Resources or the State Police or other law enforcement agency having jurisdiction to investigate the report.
Any person who has reasonable cause to suspect that a child is abused or neglected may also report.
Reports must be made within 48 hours. Failure to report may result in a misdemeanor or other penalties.
West Virginia Ann. Code § 49-1-3 provides that ‘sexual abuse’ means:
‘Sexual exploitation’ means an act whereby a parent, guardian, or custodian:
Call us today for a free and confidential consultation and find out how we can help. We are committed to helping you in any way possible. If you have been the victim of institutional child molestation/sex abuse, we are ready to stand by your side and fight for you.
Call 1-800-925-0723 and start your recovery today.