Sex Offender Registry
Connecticut Sex Offender Search
Mandatory Reporters of Child Abuse and Neglect
Connecticut Gen. Stat. § 17a-101 sets forth a list of professionals required to report suspected child abuse or neglect (including sexual abuse) to authorities. The list includes medical and mental health care providers, social workers, school employees, law enforcement authorities, members of the clergy, licensed foster parents, childcare providers in facilities that are licensed by the state, and child advocates.
In addition, any mandated reporter acting outside his or her professional capacity, or any other person having reasonable cause to suspect that a child is being abused or neglected, may report.
Reports must be made within 12 hours.
Sexual Abuse and Exploitation
Connecticut Gen. Stat. § 46b-120 provides that the term “abuse” means that a child or youth:
- Has been inflicted with physical injury or injuries by other than accidental means
- Has injuries that are at variance with the history given of them
- Is in a condition that is the result of maltreatment, that includes, but is not limited to, malnutrition, sexual molestation or exploitation, deprivation of necessities, emotional maltreatment, or cruel punishment
Connecticut Civil Statute of Limitations in Child Sexual Abuse Cases
Connecticut Gen. Stat. § 52-577d provides that actions to recover damages for sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, or sexual assault of a minor must be brought within 30 years from the date the victim reaches the age of majority (18). There is no statute of limitations for suits against abusers who have been convicted of sexual assault in the first degree.