Sex Offender Registry
Virginia Sex Offender Search
Mandatory Reporters of Abuse and Neglect
Virginia Annotated Code § 63.2-1509 sets forth a long list of professionals required to report suspected child abuse and neglect (including sexual abuse) to authorities. The list includes medical and mental health care professionals, social workers, school employees, law enforcement officers, court-appointed special advocates, athletic coaches and employees of private sports organizations or teams, and day camp workers.
In addition, any other person who suspects abuse or neglect may make a report.
Reports must be made within 72 hours. Failure to report can result in a fine of $500 or more. Failure to report instances of sexual abuse is a misdemeanor.
Sexual Abuse and Exploitation
Virginia Ann. Code § 63.2-100 provides ‘abused or neglected child’ means any child younger than age 18:
- Whose parents or other person responsible for his or her care creates or inflicts, threatens to create or inflict, or allows to be created or inflicted, upon the child a physical or mental injury by other than accidental means, or creates a substantial risk of death, disfigurement, or impairment of bodily or mental functions
- Who is with the parent or other responsible person either (1) during the manufacture or attempted manufacture of a schedule I or II controlled substance, or (2) during the unlawful sale of such substance, where such manufacture, attempted manufacture, or unlawful sale would constitute a felony violation
- Whose parents or other responsible person creates a substantial risk of physical or mental injury by knowingly leaving the child alone in the same dwelling, including an apartment, with a person to whom the child is not related by blood or marriage and who the parent or other responsible person knows has been convicted of an offense against a minor for which registration is required as a violent sexual offender
The term ‘abused or neglected child’ includes any child younger than age 18 whose parents or other person responsible for his or her care commits or allows to be committed any act of sexual exploitation or any sexual act upon a child in violation of the law.